Rise Up and Sing

Hope + change through song

Rise & Connect!

Sign up for email updatesFacebookYoutube InstagramTwitter

Darling Corey / Goofing Off Suite


This reissue combines 2 early Folkways LPs that highlight the instrumental virtuosity of Pete Seeger! Includes all the songs in an album of traditional Appalachian themed songs with his classic banjo "Goofing Off Suite" on a single CD.

Songs originally on the "Darling Corey" LP:

  • John Riley
  • Risselty-Rossitty
  • Devilish Mary
  • Come All Fair Maids
  • East Virginia Blues
  • I Had a Wife
  • Skilled Good & Greasy
  • Darling Corey
  • Four Banjo Pieces
  • Jam on Jerry's Rocks
  • Penny's Farm
  • Danville Girl
  • Get Along Little Dogies

Songs from the original "Goofing Off Suite" LP

  • Opening Theme (Pete Seeger)
  • Cindy (trad.)
  • Blue Skies (Irving Berlin)
  • The Girl I Left Behind
  • Jesu,  Joy of Man's Desiring (J.S.Bach)
  • Duet from Betthoven's Symphony No. 7
  • Chorale from Betthoven's Symphony No. 9
  • Russian Folk Themes & Yodel
  • Anitra's Dance / Brandy Leave Me Alone
  • Opening Theme (reprise)
  • Mexican Blues (Pette Seeger 1941)
  • Time's A-getting Hard (Lee Hays)
  • Empty Pocket Blues (Lee Hays & Pete Seeger)
  • Sally My Dear
  • Oh! Lisa Poor Gal
  • Sally Ann
  • Woody's Rag (Woody Guthrie)


Best Concrete