Rise Up and Sing

Hope + change through song

Rise & Connect!

Sign up for email updatesFacebookYoutube InstagramTwitter

A More Perfect Union


This is Pete Seeger's last album with Lorre Wyatt released in 2012. An amazingly touching glimpse into what Pete was living and reflecting on at the end of his life. A treasure of a CD.

The duo is joined on specific tracks by Bruce Springsteen, Steve Earle, Emmylou Harris, Dar Williams and/or Tom Morello. God's Counting on Me/God's Counting on You is a glorious call to action featured in a 2010 video shot on the Sloop Clearwater.

The closing song, "Bountiful River" (which appears in Rise Again along with "God's Counting on You") is a hauntingly beautiful elegy to Pete & Toshi now that they have passed on.

Track list:

  1. God's Counting on Me, God's Counting on You* (with Bruce Springsteen)
  2. Old Apples (a humorous take on aging! Inspired by an actual event while writing songs for this album)
  3. Keep the Flame Alive
  4. Memories Out of Mud (with Dar Williams - about Hurricane Katrina)
  5. A More Perfect Union (with Emmylou Harris & Tom Morello)
  6. This Old Man Revisited (with Steve Earle & Dar Williams - ironic scorcher on the "joys of war")
  7. These Days in Zimbabwe
  8. Somebody Else's Eye
  9. Strange Lullabye
  10. Howing for Our Supper
  11. My Neighbor's Needs
  12. Wonderful Friends (different than the version on Seeger's At 89 album)
  13. A Toast to the Time
  14. Fields of Harmony (haunting Seeger solo)
  15. Bountiful River*

* in Rise Again. (View complete list of Seeger songs in our new songbook here.)

Best Concrete